Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation IOSB

Advanced System Technology (AST) Branch

About us

© SIEMENS AG
The operating concepts developed in REGEES must also be integrated into the control rooms of the future.
© Matthias Leitzke
The GPS exhibit at phaeno Wolfsburg is based on the RTLSflares technology developed at Fraunhofer IOSB-AST.

We work towards new methods and processes for the optimal use of complex cybernetic systems and translate them into innovative operation control applications for various purposes like cross-sectoral energy systems and water supply. Our solutions can be found worldwide in numerous applications of our clients. These include power plant dispatch planning, management of storage units, power supply systems, virtual power plants, water supply networks and barrage cascades.

Localization solutions and autonomous robot platforms for the industry form a further focus of our work. We have set a benchmark for deep-sea suitable autonomous underwater vehicles with our own base system “DEDAVE”, which we successfully brought to the market. 

Our excellent R&D activities are consequently tailored across multiple sectors to the major topic “digitalization”. For public contract research, we are excellently positioned on federal state and European level.

We have a research infrastructure for indoor and underwater robotics, a pressure test bench for deep-sea components as well as numerous platforms for the “digitalization of the energy supply”. For the latter, the service offering covers energy (data) management solutions and test areas about IT security for critical infrastructure. Read more.

Research focus

  • Energy systems
  • E-mobility
  • Power grids
  • Smart grids
  • Energy
  • Embedded systems for remote maintenance systems
  • Guidance systems for underwater vehicles
  • Integrated water resources management

 

Further information

Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung IOSB

Institutsteil Angewandte Systemtechnik AST

Über uns

© SIEMENS AG

Die in REGEES erarbeiteten Betriebskonzepte müssen auch in die Leitwarten der Zukunft eingebunden werden.

© Matthias Leitzke

Das GPS-Exponat im phaeno Wolfsburg basiert auf der RTLSflares Technologie des Fraunhofer IOSB-AST.

Wir forschen an neuen kybernetischen Methoden und Verfahren zur optimalen Steuerung und Führung komplexer Systeme und überführen diese in innovative Betriebsführungsapplikationen, zum Beispiel für cross-sektorale Energiesysteme und in der Wasserversorgung. Unsere Lösungen finden sich weltweit in den vielfältigsten Anwendungen unserer Auftraggeber wieder. Dazu zählen unter anderem die Kraftwerkseinsatzplanung, die Betriebsführung von Energiespeichern, Stromnetzen, virtuellen Kraftwerken, Wasserversorgungsnetzen und Staustufenkaskaden.

Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bilden Lokalisationslösungen und autonome Roboterplattformen für die Industrie. Mit dem Technologieträger DEDAVE haben wir Maßstäbe für tiefseetaugliche Unterwasserfahrzeuge gesetzt und erfolgreich vermarktet.

Unsere exzellenten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten sind konsequent und branchenübergreifend auf das Zukunftsthema „Digitalisierung“ zugeschnitten. Im Bereich der öffentlichen Auftragsforschung sind wir auf Landes-, Bundes- und Europäischer Ebene ausgezeichnet aufgestellt.

Wir verfügen über eine Forschungsinfrastruktur für Indoor- und Unterwasserrobotik, einen Druckprüfstand für Tiefseekomponenten sowie mehrere Plattformen zum Thema „Digitalisierung der Energieversorgung“. Das Leistungsspektrum erstreckt sich dort von Energie(daten)managementlösungen bis hin zu Testständen zum Thema IT-Sicherheit für kritische Infrastruktur.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Energiesysteme
  • E-Mobilität
  • Stromnetze
  • Smart Grids
  • Energiewirtschaft
  • Eingebettete Systeme für Fernwartungssysteme
  • Führungssysteme für Unterwasserfahrzeuge
  • Integriertes Wasserressourcenmanagement